Located just steps away from the Vatican on the Tiber River, the Basilica of St. John of the Florentines (Basilica di San Giovanni Battista dei Fiorentini) contains a relic of the foot of St. Mary Magdalene. Her left foot is enshrined in this minor Basilica. Her left foot was the first to enter the tomb of the risen Christ on Easter morning. There is also a chapel dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene within the church, along with many other chapels.
The Basilica is dedicated to St. John the Baptist who is known as the protector of Florence. The church is the official church in Rome expatriates of Florence who left in the mid-fifteenth century when plague was rampant. There was some struggle to break ground on the church and Michelangelo made several plans for the church that were never used. Ultimately architect Giacomo della Porta took on the challenge and after almost three centuries, the church was completed in 1738.
Address: Piazza Dell’Oro 1, Via Acciaiolo 2, Rome, Italy
Accommodations: There are many 4 and 5-star hotels within walking distance to central Rome.
Tel: +39 06 446 6184